A beautifully restored character farmhouse near Madiran, Hautes-Pyrénées, with 4 bedrooms (sleeps 9 plus cot), a private 12m pool, stunning views and a beautiful garden with sweeping lawn in a peaceful location.

Enquire today Our prices

A beautifully restored character farmhouse near Madiran, Hautes-Pyrénées, with 4 bedrooms (sleeps 9 plus cot), a private 12m pool, stunning views and a beautiful garden with sweeping lawn in a peaceful location.

Enquire today Our prices

A beautifully restored character farmhouse near Madiran, Hautes-Pyrénées, with 4 bedrooms (sleeps 9 plus cot), a private 12m pool, stunning views and a beautiful garden with sweeping lawn in a peaceful location.

Enquire today Our prices

A beautifully restored character farmhouse near Madiran, Hautes-Pyrénées, with 4 bedrooms (sleeps 9 plus cot), a private 12m pool, stunning views and a beautiful garden with sweeping lawn in a peaceful location.

Enquire today Our prices

Reviews

Perfect house with beautiful garden in the foothills of the Pyrénées
We spent two amazing weeks with two families in Maison Acanthe! It’s a great place for a relaxing holiday: the house is perfectly equipped - you won’t miss anything! It is beautifully decorated, in the kitchen you find everything to prepare a meal, there are lots of books to read ...The cosy bedrooms have all ventilation for warm summer nights. In the beautiful, well maintained garden you find shade given by different trees at any time in the summer heat or you can cool down in the big pool. The surrounding area is absolutely calm and wonderful for cycling without much traffic and in the night you have the sky full of stars! Madiran is a nice little village with a fabulous bakery ( the best “pain au raisin” ever). The vineyards in this area produce fantastic vines - you can try them in the nice little shop (Chez Madiran) on the main road. You find some really good restaurants in the surroundings, but it is also a pleasure to cook by yourself and stay with a glass of wine on the lovely roofed terrace with the amazing view to the Pyrénées! The owners of the house are very helpful for any questions and react professional if a problem occurs. You can’t find better hosts! Thank you again, Tracey and Mark, for sharing this place with us! We will definitely return!

Claudia S, July 2020

Relaxing vacation in wonderful setting
Our second stay in this beautiful, well appointed restored farmhouse was even better than last year.  The house was immaculate again, the extensive garden and the nice pool well maintained.  The lovely owners are easily approachable and very supportive.  
The view of the mountains was as gorgeous as before, which together with the absolutely quiet location ensures for a very relaxing time.  The central location of the house makes it easy to explore the local gascony region and the foothills of the Pyrenees, with its fortified towns and castle villages, as well as many nature trails.  We also enjoyed the culinary speciallties and the multiple flavors of this wine growing region.  We will certainly return next year!  

Rainer M, September 2019


Swim, eat, cycle, eat, drink, sleep....Repeat!

Our second visit to Maison d'Acanthe did not disappoint. We were well and truly blessed with fabulous weather and couldn't believe how quickly our 10 day sejour passed. We found the perfect formula: swim, eat, cycle, eat, drink, sleep.... and repeat! Many thanks to Mark and Tracey for giving us the opportunity to enjoy their beautiful home once more. PS many thanks also to Sue the housekeeper who made us feel most welcome.

Darrel V, August 2019

Fantastic holiday villa
We had a wonderful two weeks here in August and couldn't fault it. The pictures don't do it justice, we didn't want to come home.
The house was clean and tidy, and there was plenty of room for nine of us. The kitchen is very well equipped with a large fridge freezer which came in handy with a large party.
The large garden has plenty of room for children to play whilst the pool was easily large enough to accommodate all of us. The views are incredible and it is extremely quiet.
In the end we only left the house for one day out as we had everything we needed for an enjoyable relaxing holiday at the house. Tracey, the owner answered all our questions and queries promptly, and could not have been more helpful.
We would definitely return.

TFL, August 2019


Paradise!
The house is well set out in an idyllic location. We had everything we needed for a perfect week away en famille. The owner was very prompt in answering my incessant messages (and patient too!) The house is accurately described and if anything, even better than we hoped it would be! Definitely recommend.

Cressida, July 2019

 

Beautiful restored farmhouse in a great location
We spent a very relaxing week at the end of September in this beautifully restored and well equipped farmhouse.  Absolutely gorgeous view of the mountains across the beautiful garden.  Quiet location, but still well connected to towns, restaurants and the must-see locations in the area.  The house has everything you could think of, perfectly equipped kitchen, nice sitting areas and well appointed bedrooms, everything at a very high standard.  Best of all is the absolute silence and the stunning view of a million stars at night  We will certainly return!

Rainer M, September 2018


Paradise found in the foothills of the Pyrenees
Quite honestly we would have been happy to just pitch our tent in the garden on arrival and take in the stunning views offered by the Pyrenees.  Instead we felt obliged to take up residence in quite simply a most beautiful home.  Maison Acanthe was immaculately presented throughout and equipped to a very high standard.  Everything you could want was either available at the residence or within a short drive - from the fabulous pool, and sizeable, private, well maintained garden, to the local bars and restaurants in the surrounding villages and towns.  We will definitely be returning to Maison Acanthe, but will travel further afield next time as there is clearly so much more to explore in the area.

Darrel V, August 2018


3rd consecuitve stay

I think the title sums it all up.  The best property we have stayed in within France and the owners are extremely helpful.  Lovely layout, kitchen and bathrooms, everything provided - don't want for anything.  Lovely gardens, pool and mountain views and bags of animal and bird life.  Pyrenees very accessible - take ya bicycle and do the Tourmalet!

Greg B, July 2018

 

Amazing place
The house was beyond our expectations: large, beautiful and peaceful view with a securised swimming pool.  The place was perfect for our kids who could run in the big garden.  The house is fully furnished, convenient and clean (thank you again Sue!)  Everything was well described and we had a lot of information from the hosts Tracey and Mark.  

From there we have visited the villages surrounding (Bassoues, Lupiac, Madiran, Marciac...) and Tarbes.  We enjoyed a lot the quietness of Maison Acanthe and recommend this address warmly.

Johanna D, August 2017

An amazing house, with a great view and lovely owners
An amazing and large house with a view you can only dream about.  Fully equipped kitchen, large rooms and a big pool.  Everything was clean and everything you needed was available.  The owners are really friendly and very helpful.  All the info you want is available and a lot of possibilties to visit (Lourdes, San Sebastian, Pau...)  The region is also known for its wine.  We will visit again!

Tim V, August 2017

 

Second excellent stay
Our second year running here which is very positive in itself.  We had another great fortnight.  The house was immaculate again and had all the facilities described.  Wow, do I like their fridge.

Good cooking facilities, washing machine etc.  Pleasantly furnished and two nice bath rooms.  Lovely pool with great views of the mountains when the weather was good.

Lovely quiet garden surrounded by fields.  Green Wood Peckers, Hoopoe, Red Squirrels, Black Shouldered Kite, Golden Orioles - wonderful for nature without being too insect ridden.

There are some good restaurants 20-30 mins away and 2 even had vegetarian menus.  Weather wasn't good this time but c'est la vie.

Tracey the owner is very contactable before and during the stay which is very reassuring.  Make sure this is the area you want to stay in, well recommended stay, although that means more people will book it!  Damn!

Greg B, July 2017

A great property in a stunning setting
Grandparents, parents +12 week-old baby, had a terrific week's holiday in this lovely property. The setting couldn't be bettered for its stunning view and peaceful surroundings, and with its lovely private garden and pool. The house was well-equipped and everything worked. The local restaurant was excellent and great value for money. This is a lovely rural area but lots of nice places to explore such as Marciac.

David M,  August 2016

Séjour très agréable
Très belle masion très bien équippée avec une vue magnifique et grande piscine.  Même à distance, Tracey est très soucieuse du bien être de ses hôtes.

Julie D, August 2020


Perfection

We came from one lockdown to, due to a broken down car, another. If you want to stay 2 weeks without going out, this is the place. Tracey and Mark’s home is everything you could want with the right amount of space not to go mad with 4 children. I am sure someone said there were sugar tongs, but I couldn’t find them!

Juliet B, July 2020

Beautiful house, pool and views in a super quiet location
The house is beautifully decorated yet functional and not cluttered, and most importantly EVERYTHING works (showers, washing machine, pool cover, knives etc!). The size was perfect for 9 of us. The furniture was comfortable (especially the beds). The WiFi reliable in most rooms. Madiran is a very pretty village with a good and friendly bakery and the region around it is underrated and therefore not crowded: the perfect location to visit both the Gers and the Pyrennees.

Freedom, July 2019

Just perfect
Surrounded by fields and vineyards, Maison Acanthe, with its swimming pool and beautiful garden, is just the perfect place to spend some nice, relaxing holidays far from the crowds. With views on the Pyrénées from both terrasses, the house offers full comfort, with excellent beds and lots of space. Photos speak for themselves. We just did not want to leave ...

Roving, July 2019

Idyllic location and wonderful property
Garden & pool fabulous amazing location with fantastic views. House has everything you need, family friendly. Great for walking and cycling in the beautiful surrounding countryside. We had a fabulous time in this quiet and private property. We will visit again as we just loved it and the area. Thank you

Tilly, May 2019


Relaxing vacation in wonderful setting
Our second stay (it would have been our third but I left the booking too late last year). The house is perfect in every way - beautiful, well equipped house, wonderful garden with flowers and mounatin views, and huge pool  Great cycling all round in traffic fee lanes, and lovely walking on tracks in the fields.  Very quiet and private, but walkable to the boulangerie.  Thank you Tracey and Mark!

Polly and Rob M, July 2018


Gorgeous house, garden and THAT VIEW!
Fantastic in every way.  Wonderfully comfortable house, beautiful garden with view of the Pyrenees, huge pool  Great cycling on quiet lanes for miles around, lovely footpath walks through vineyards, village boulangerie is walkable (2 miles).  No close neighbours; very peaceful.  Good wifi, good TV etc for those that want them.  Easily the best house we have ever stayed in.  Thank you Tracey and Mark.   

Anonymous, July 2018


Wonderful views and pool
We booked the house for its fantastic view and pool - both of which turned out to be even better than in the photos. House is well thought out, very clean, with great internet, BBC on the TV and a fridge that makes ice (something for everyone!) Fantastic area for cycling - wonderful views at every turn and absolutely no traffic. Could not have been better. Thank you Tracey and Mark.

Polly and Rob M, August 2016

 

Must be good, the only place in France we've rebooked
Pretty immaculate facilities.  Good sized rooms with everything you want.  Lovely gardens and great pool with genuine mountain views.  Quiet area, hardly any noise at night.  Plenty of wildlife (non insect) which can be noisy at night

The best , medium priced, restaurant we have ever eaten in in UK or France in Madiran - fantastic local wines.  Some lovely villages 30-45mins away.

Minor Gripes - Intermittent TV reception (seems common in France ) and we didn't get on with the electric pool cover so left it open

A recommended stay

Greg B, July 2016


Wonderful rural holiday
We had a wonderful holiday at Bidos, where 7 of us stayed for a family celebration being held nearby. The house is huge and very well equipped - we wanted for nothing and were even able to host a party for 20 family and friends without difficulty. The garden and pool are beautiful and very well kept. Views from the house and garden are stunning and we were able to enjoy them while eating our meals on the shaded terrace.

Jane M, June 2015

Wonderful house in a stunning spot
Beautifully furnished, clean & well maintained, this house has everything you could possibly need for a self catering holiday. The garden is lovely & has great views from every direction, even to the Pyrenees on a clear day. (We were so impressed with the outside space on arrival, it took us ages to even open up the house!) With temperatures in the mid 30s, our family spent hours in the pool which again is very well maintained. Although remote there are plenty of interesting places to visit for a day trip - Pau, Tarbes, Hautacam, and we even squeezed in a visit to San Sebastián  After many great self catering holidays in France over the years, this house is definitely our favourite yet.

Anonymous, July 2015

A perfect place to relax and unwind!
This house truly is a gem and was enjoyed by our large family including six adults and three children. We have been holidaying in France for the past 6 years and this is our clear favourite, for which we broke our rule and returned for a second visit.

It did not disappoint and Tracey and Mark, the new owners, have even managed to improve it!!

The property is very spacious and beautifully maintained and well equipped for a relaxing stay. The garden is extremely well kept with lots of different seating areas, all giving you fantastic views of the countryside and mountains beyond.

The pool is fantastic and we spent most of our days lazying around soaking up the sun.

When we could drag ourselves out we found lots of places to visit, from vineyards to the mountains and caves, to the Jazz festival in Marciac.

Tracey and Mark, the owners were very helpful and promptly replied to all our questions before we left making sure we had a superb holiday.

Rachel, August 2015

© Copyright 2021 Maison Acanthe | Privacy PolicyWeb Design By Toolkit Websites